Thread Organisation

I haven’t done much actual stitching this weekend yet, but I have spent it organising my threads. My DMC collection, plus a small amount of leftover Dimensions and specialty threads, are now on bobbins:

Floss Storage

I have a decent amount of the DMC colours now, but no where near the whole set. I find that the bobbins are the best way for me to organise my threads as they are easily accessible and are easy to transfer to a project box. Previous systems I have tried are keeping the floss in zip lock bags and stitch bows. Stitch bows worked for a while, but now I’m getting into larger, more complex designs with over 80 colours, I needed something different.

That’s all for now, hopefully I will have a finish to show you in the next day or so! I would also love to hear about how other stitchers organised their floss collections.

6 thoughts on “Thread Organisation

  1. claire93 says:

    well done on your neat bobbins. My threads are totally unorganised. I have several plastic bags full of skeins that I rummage through and it’s usually by chance if I find what I’m looking for lol

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I can’t handle the creases the bobbins give to the threads — do you have a way to avoid that or does it just not bother you?

    My current project is a kit so all the threads came pre-cut and bundled, and I’ve just been twisting each bundle up into skeins between uses. I’m not sure what I’ll end up doing once I get to a project I buy all my own thread for.

    Like

    • The creases don’t bother me as much as I thought they would. I am doing some rather large projects that have about 80+ colours in them so the bobbins keep it all organised 🙂 I love all the different ways people organise their floss!

      Like

  3. I’m so jealous. This is how I want to organise my threads but I just haven’t got round to it yet. Currently I have a small “Really Useful” box with the skeins loose inside, so I really have to rummage to find them. Love the way yours looks so – I imagine having everything sorted like that would really help! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful bobbins! I love all the colors together. I do what you do for my thread. Wrap the thread around plastic bobbins and then place it in a nice plastic storage bin. I’ve got the DMC color chart, so I try to keep all my colors in order. Whenever I do a new project, I’ll just reorganize them in order ^_^. I love bobbin wrapping and organizing!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Summers craft corner says:

    Hi, I have mine organised like yours and whenever I finish a bobbin I re order that color so my box’s are never empty :)I’ve managed over the years to get every DMC color… a rainbow of colors 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

