Book Review: Game of Thrones

Book Review: Game of Thrones

Game of Thrones

I received this book from a friend for my birthday, I hadn’t read any of George R.R. Martin’s books, nor had I seen the television series based on them (which is almost tantamount to heresy in some people’s minds). I have never been a great fantasy reader, outside some classics like The Hobbit or some popular fantasy like Harry Potter. However, I settled down to read Game of Thrones.

The first few chapters intrigued me, but didn’t necessarily hook me immediately. I found Martin’s style to be very different from the previous few books I’d read so I had to adjust. However, the different character’s stories definitely get you hooked in the end. I was particularly captivated in the story lines of Jon Snow and Arya Stark.

I enjoyed reading the book and finished it quite quickly. This was probably aided by the fact Martin has divided the book into small chapters, each narrated by a different character. This can be tiresome if there is a lot of chapters narrated by characters you aren’t particularly fond of, but of course, each reader will identify and enjoy the story lines or different characters.

One criticism of Martin’s characters is that at certain points, they can feel cliched. I certainly got that feeling with Arya and Sansa Stark. The stereotyping of the sisters, one being a “tomboy” (though I hate that term) and one being very “girlie” has been done before and I would have like to see a little more blurring of those stereotypes. But perhaps that happens in the later books. Game of Thrones is of course, the first in an ever growing series.

I would read the other books in the series I think as I enjoyed reading this one. It doesn’t make me want to watch the television show though, but that is possibly because I am trying to avoid watching television too much.

I have started reading another non-fiction book, but I have also started my final semester of university, so that will slow down my stitching and reading. I will keep you updated if i finish anything though.

One thought on “Book Review: Game of Thrones

Leave a Reply

