June and July 2016 WIP Update: A fail, a restart and a Pokemon.

Here we are in August already! I am definitely still stitching, but it has been slow going over the last few months. But I do have a small update for you all:

My fail/Parliament of Owls

Chart: Parliament of Owls by Scott Gustafson charted by Heaven and Earth Designs. Stitched on 25 count Permin linen 1 over 1.

I was attempting to participate in the Heaven and Earth Designs facebook group challenge. The challenge was to complete a colour at a time over a whole page. I failed to complete the challenge on time….in fact, I failed to complete the challenge at all! I love working on my Owls, but I think attempting 2 pages (large sized chart) of the pattern was a bit much for my fragile stitching bug and it disappeared. But here is where I got to before I switched projects.

You can definitely see 3 little owl faces emerging from the pattern. I will probably finish the pages colour by colour when I pick it back up again. But I may have to just do 3 colours or so and then stitch on something else.

My Restart/Pretty Little London

Chart: Pretty Little London by Satsuma Street, stitched on 32 count Lugana in Sorcerer by Colour Cascade Fabrics, 2 over 2.

This was a chart I had previously started on plain 18 count aida and I really didn’t like the look of it. I hadn’t gotten very far so I restarted on the new fabric. It is a dark blue with very subtle grey overtones (it won’t show up well in pictures).

20160807_091329.jpg

My Pokemon/Sandshrew

Chart: Sandshrew from Malkibird Stitching on DeviantArt, stitched on an 18 count white Afghan baby blanket.

This cute little ground pokemon was next on the list for the blanket, I had started him ages ago, but only got around to doing the bulk of him in July.

img_20160731_183831.jpg

That is it for the update!

August Plans

I plan to work on my Custom Wedding Sampler and another pokemon. Once my son’s birth sampler kit arrives, I will also start that. If I get really enthusiastic, I will attempt to catch up on my Frosted Pumpkin Stitchery Pumpkin Passport stitch-a-long.

Have a great stitchy month everyone!

4 thoughts on “June and July 2016 WIP Update: A fail, a restart and a Pokemon.

    • I really like the Dimensions Kits for starters, they come with all the fabric, floss, a needle and the chart. Their charts have pretty good explanations and are printed clearly. Dimensions also have some lovely baby ones to do as well. There are heaps of stitching groups on facebook etc to ask questions. All you’d need to add to the kit would be a pair of nice sharp scissors and maybe a hoop to hold your fabric tight for you (although, this is entirely personal preference).

      Liked by 1 person

    • I use the Frixon Pens (they are heat erasable). I wouldn’t recommend them for non-full coverage pieces as they definitely leave faint marks on some fabrics and some colours. I have yet to find the perfect solution for gridding! But these pens are my lazy option 😛

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

