August 2016 WIP Update: A New Start

Here we are at the end of another month for 2016. I had high hopes that this year I would get all those WIPs worked on and keep up with  my stitch-a-longs, well, it hasn’t quite worked like that!

The only project I have really worked on this month is actually a new start, because I need more WIPs of course. This one, however, is a birth sampler for my little boy due at the end of November. I chose to do a Dimensions one as I really love the vibrant colours that use in their designs. I have completed a few of the Dimensions birth samplers before for my niece and nephew, see here.

The one I have chosen for my son is the Savannah Birth Record, which should look like this when completed.

K70-73543.jpg

I think it is adorable and I couldn’t help starting it once I got it. I did switch out the 14-count aida in the kit for some 18-count aida I had as I prefer working on the smaller counts fabric and prefer the coverage I get with the thread.

The only thing I don’t really like about the Dimensions kits is that the thread comes precut instead of just being a length, which makes it irritating (although not impossible) to use bobbins.

I have also decided, for fun, to work this pattern colour by colour. So I started with the light blue.

That’s my progress so far, I have started on the dark tan colour, which borders both the Elephant and Monkey sections of the pattern. However, that will be in my September update. I am finding this an easy chart to work on and the aida is actually a nice break from the linen and evenweave I had been working with.

That is all this month folks! Hoping I have a lot more progress for you on this project for September and I hope I get to work on at least 1 other WIP as well.

Have a good stitching month everyone.

4 thoughts on “August 2016 WIP Update: A New Start

Leave a Reply

